Snow Dino

February 7, 2010

It’s never too late to start acting like a kid again.  The one thing that always amazes me about children is that they tend make the best of (snowy) situations.  They pay no never-mind to inconvenience- cold ears/face/hands/toes don’t faze them, and they have crazy amounts of energy to DO the things they dream up.  Pretty inspirational, huh?

Today was one of those days that I was acting too much like a grown up; curling up in blankets, drinking coffee and scrooge-ing about the recent midwest blizzard. I. was. so. ready. for. spring. And, I was tired of having to bundle up just to take the dog out… which is what I was doing when my attitude had a reality check.  We were standing, shivering and sniffing as the bus dropped off the kiddos.  And like a virus, the contageous shouting began.

“We’re in a winter wonderland!”  was the chorus that seemed to be in surround sound as all the neighborhood kiddies dispersed to drop off their backpacks at their respective homes.  Who can keep a scowl around with that sort of thing in the air?  Not me.

So… I began preparations to join them in their magical thought.  It was time for Dino to visit.  Dino (as in Dee-no, the Flintstones’ family pet) is a snow creation invented by my Dad.  Home Dog is a hopelessly creative, believer in dreams sort of fellow.  Our Snow Dinos of old were complete with food coloring.  This year, I wasn’t QUITE that ambitious, but had the right spirit at least.  Dino began with a snowball bigger than me.  I actually had to wait for my Hubby to come home to help me push it.

The masses of neighbor kids shouted in awe, guessing what it was.  “It’s a LONG-NECK!” exclaimed one little boy before we were even 50% complete.   He got it.  Even a few grown-ups came over to marvel.  And when we were finished, the kids who inspired the young in my heart came over to ride Dino.

Lesson learned:  dream on!

3 Responses to “Snow Dino”

  1. Tracy Says:

    And you made me smile. Again. Just what I needed with these snowy day blues… Thank you for sharing!

  2. Amy Says:

    I love this. 🙂

  3. colleen Says:

    I Y Q. And wish i was there to make a dino with you. play in snow, lay on my stomach and look at the snowflakes… etc.

    so so glad you have a blog. i am in class and sought it out just now. i needed a smile. mission accomplished.

    miss you friend. want to hang out in… oh, about two weeks?

    deal.


Leave a Reply

